Our Chronology

Though there is no certainty when it comes to the exact dates and order in which Shakespeare wrote his plays, through years of dedicated scholarship we have a decent idea. As this podcast is ostensibly going through Shakespeare’s plays in order, I needed to figure out what order I’d be using. The following chronology is based on The Riverside Shakespeare, and this is the order in which we’ll be treating Shakespeare’s plays.

  1. Henry VI, Part I
  2. Henry VI, Part II
  3. Henry VI, Part III
  4. Richard III
  5. The Comedy of Errors
  6. Titus Andronicus
  7. The Taming of the Shrew
  8. The Two Gentlemen of Verona
  9. Love’s Labour’s Lost
  10. King John
  11. Richard II
  12. Romeo and Juliet
  13. A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  14. The Merchant of Venice
  15. Henry IV, Part I
  16. The Merry Wives of Windsor
  17. Henry IV, Part II
  18. Much Ado About Nothing
  19. Henry V
  20. Julius Caesar
  21. As You Like It
  22. Hamlet
  23. Twelfth Night
  24. Troilus and Cressida
  25. All’s Well That Ends Well
  26. Measure for Measure
  27. Othello
  28. King Lear
  29. Macbeth
  30. Antony and Cleopatra
  31. Coriolanus
  32. Timon of Athens
  33. Pericles
  34. Cymbeline
  35. The Winter’s Tale
  36. The Tempest
  37. Henry VIII
  38. The Two Noble Kinsmen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s